skip to Main Content

Lane County Old Courthouse Lane County was established on January 29, 1851. It was created from the southern part of Linn County and that portion of Benton County that was east of Umpqua County. Originally it covered all of southern Oregon east to the Rocky Mountains and south to the California border. It was named after the territory’s first governor, Joseph Lane.


Today Lane County has 10 Chambers Of Commerce and covers the areas of Cottage Grove, Creswell, Eugene, Florence, Junction, Oakridge, Springfield, Veneta, Walterville, Linn County, Douglas County, Benton County, Marion County, and Lincoln County.


As of the 2010 census, the population of Lane County was 351,715 making it the fourth-most populous county in Oregon. The county seat is Eugene. It is named in honor of Joseph Lane, Oregon’s first territorial governor.


Lane County comprises the city of Eugene which is the third-largest metro area in Oregon.

P.O. Box 72484
Springfield, OR 97475